GCSE Mathematics

Exam Board: Pearson Edexcel

Why should I choose this subject

GCSE Mathematics is a compulsory subject and all pupils will attend and take exams in this subject.

What does the subject consist of?

In line with the National Curriculum, the course covers number, algebra, ratios, proportion and rates of change, geometry and measures, probability and statistics.

How is the subject assessed?

Edexcel Mathematics GCSE is a two year course that is assessed through written examinations in the summer of the final year. The GCSE can be taken at Foundation or Higher level and pupils will be entered at the appropriate level depending on their ability. At Foundation level pupils can gain Grades 1 to 5, whereas at Higher level they can gain grades 3 to 9 (Grade 9 is the highest).

Assessment is through three written papers. The first paper is a non-calculator paper, testing pupils’ mental maths ability and placing them in everyday situations where calculators are not always available. The final two papers are conducted with calculators and there is no specific focus to either paper, covering the breadth of the syllabus. All papers carry the same weight, each one is 1 hour 30 minutes and has 80 marks.

Whom does the subject suit?

This is a compulsory subject so pupils of all abilities take this. We stream all mathematics classes and at Key Stage 4 it is normal to have 4 sets. This allows us to differentiate the work that each set completes and they are able to move at an independent pace, depending on the ability. It would be usual for the less able set to study at Foundation level whilst all other sets would commence the Higher level.